District Administration

The district is the basic unit of administration within a State. In many ways, the Collectorate is the fulcrum of law & authority, the base on which the local administration functions. The key functions of the District Administration include :

 Development & Public welfare activities

  • Civil Administration
  • Development works in Panchayats & local bodies
  • Maintenance of Law & Order in the District
  • Collection of land revenue, other kinds of Government taxes, fees and all dues recoverable as arrears of land revenue.
  • Ensuring the maintenance of accurate and upto date records of rights as regards the land.
  • Appointing authority for Panchayat Sevak and Revenue Karmachari and Collectorate cadre staff posted in the Anchal offices, and in the offices of Sub Divisional Officers (Civil) and Block Development officers (BDOs) and for most of the subordinate revenue staff in the district.
  • Providing overall guidance and coordination of activities of all line departments in the district.
  • Coordination with municipal committees, market committees, Panchayats, Panchayat Samitis, community development blocks and the Zila Parishad, which came into existence with the decentralization of authority and expansion of the Panchayati Raj.
  • Monitoring and Execution of rural development schemes.
  • Peaceful and orderly conduct of all elections held in the district from time to time.
  • Controlling & regulation of the distribution of essential commodities, etc.
Broader Classification of Works
The broad classification of works at the District Level is as follows :-

  • Law & Order
  • Collection of land revenue
  • Recovery of public demands recoverable as arrears of land
  • Administration of records of rights
  • Registration of transactions relating to land
  • Licensing of fire arms, cinema etc.
  • Collection of excise duly, royalty on minor minerals etc.
  • Conduct of elections
  • Transport etc.


  • Rural Development : especially fund flow to the 3-tier panchayati raj structure
  • Irrigation
  • Roads
  • Power
  • Sanitation and water supply
  • Other public woks e.g. RSVY etc.

Associated Developments

  • Welfare and Social Welfare
  • Education including SSA
  • Health including NRHM
  • Agriculture
  • Animal Husbandry
  • Food & Civil Supplies etc.


  • Disaster Management
  • Public Grievances Monitoring
  • Tourism
  • Forest & Environment

Administrative Setup

Aurangabad is one of the 38 districts of bihar. It has two sub divisions.

  • Aurangabad
  • Daudnagar
It has 11 development blocks.
  • Aurangabad
  • Daudnagar
  • Madanpur
  • Kutumba
  • Barun
  • Obra
  • Dev
  • Nabinagar
  • Haspura
  • Goh
  • Rafiganj

Adminstrative Hierarchy

  District Map
Typing Test of Executive Assistant
News & Events